Ōtaki College News October 2015

R_college_rightR_College-top-rightFrom the Principal

Many of you will have recently attended our Sports and Senior Prizegivings. The time and effort that goes into the organisation of these events is huge. I want to take this opportunity to acknowledge and thank the many staff who put in the hours of extra work to make these prizegivings so special. It has been a real privilege to see the achievements of our young people celebrated and it is also testament to the support given to them by family/whanau and staff.

This year we believe we have awarded the Sportsperson of the Year for the first time to a Year 8 student, Damien Doyle. Damien was the winner of our College Swimming, Running and Multisport cups, breaker of 6 College Swimming records and was a national medalist in Surf Lifesaving, Triathlon and Kayak. Coming in a close second was Daisy Davis who has also had an amazing year with her sporting achievements.

At the Senior Prizegiving it was exciting to see the growing number of students who were being acknowledged for merit and excellence endorsements at all levels of NCEA. This is evidence that the level of achievement at the College continues to get stronger and I firmly believe that this is because of the strong shifts that have been made in the culture of the College over the last 8 years. I want to thank staff and students for their commitment towards getting the best out of teaching and learning and want to acknowledge two students that took out our top three awards.

Francesca Flaws
Francesca Flaws

Francesca Flaws was announced as Dux for 2015. Francesca is a worthy winner of this honour and this is a true reflection of both her ability and dedication to study over her years here at Ōtaki College. I wish Francesca all the best as she embarks on the next part of her journey at Otago University where she will study Law and Politics.

Runner-up to Dux Clare McInerney-Heather
Runner-up to Dux Clare McInerney-Heather

Clare McInerney–Heather was Runner Up to Dux, winner of the Sander Scholar Award and the Chairperson’s Award for All Round Excellence. After travelling to Scotland to be hosted by Robert Gordon’s College in January 2016, Clare will also head to Otago University to commence First Year Health Science.

Congratulations to Tevita Kata (Head Boy), Clare McInerney-Heather (Head Girl), our Heads of School: Isobel Cudby, Adele Finnie, Francesca Flaws, Isla Gray, Kyuwon Kim, Erin McArley, Aisea Nelson-Latu and Grace Teu and House Captains: Sean Byers-Cook, Ines Depner, Lana Richardson, Hemaima Rikihana, Rhyna Tawhara-Clode and Ryan Walker who were acknowledged for their service to the college over 2015. They have been a cohesive group of young people who have worked hard to make certain that the student body have had plenty of House events to participate in and have also supported important campaigns such as Pink Shirt Day, Orange Shine Friday, World Vision 40 Hour Famine, Shave for a Cure, Culture Week and many others.

As always, an exciting part of the evening was the announcement of the new Heads of School.

Congratulations to our 2016 student leaders:

  • Head girl — Cassie Lundie,
  • Head boy — Krunal Modi,
  • Deputy head girl — Kate Crighton and
  • Deputy head boy — Joel Taranchokov,
  • Associate heads of school:
    • Felix Crowe,
    • Kaya Edginton,
    • Sophrose London,
    • Ashleigh Stevenson,
    • Elijah Tapine-Miller and
    • Jordyn Thompson.

I look forward to working with the team in 2016.

Andy Fraser, Principal